The Quincy Mine is located in Hancock in the Keweenaw Peninsula in Michigan’s Houghton County. It mined copper and was founded in 1846 and operated until 1945. At the time, the Quincy number 2 shaft was the world’s longest shaft at 1.75 miles (2.8 km) long. In the years that it operated this mine produced 424,000 tons of native copper. The Quincy Mining Company was the first to notice the limits of fissure mining and switch to the low mineral content rock, amygdaloid. The mine is now a popular tourist attraction of the Keweenaw National Historical Park. The Quincy Mine Hoist Association now owns and operates this decommissioned mine as a preserved museum where visitors can come and learn about the rich heritage and importance that mining had. They offer guided tours where visitors can visit the Number 2 Shaft House and museum, see the Nordberg Steam Hoist, the world’s largest steam powered hoist and even take a ride on a cog tram car to the mine’s entrance and then ride a wagon seven levels underground into the mine.