The Gay Schoolhouse Museum is located in Gay in Michigan’s Keweenaw County. It is in a school that was built in 1927 and closed in 1961. The school served children of families working at the copper mines up until their closure in 1932. The school has taken on extensive repair and restoration before becoming a museum. The first floor of the school contains a restored classroom as well as a horse drawn buggy, a sleigh and a 1908 Jewell, one of the first horseless carriages in the Keweenaw. The museum tells a story and exhibits the impact of cooper mining on the town as well as commercial lumber and fishing in the area.